Home - National Network of State Teachers of the Year

Eugenia Etkina, Professor in the GraduateSchool of Education and member of our graduate faculty, has won the2014 Millikan Medal of the American Association of Physics Teachers(AATP). The award recognizes educators who have made notable andcreative contributions to the teaching of physics. The awardrecognized a number of Eugenia's achievements, in particular her rolea co-creator of the Investigative Science Learning environment (ISLE)- an approach to teaching and learning physics that helps studentslearn physics by engaging in activities that mirror the practice ofphysics.

SparkNotes: The Outsiders: Character List

Steve Randle - Sodapop’s best friend since grade school

Teacher Resources - Library of Congress: For Teachers

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) has selected David Maiullo as the recipient of a Distinguished Service Citation, to beawarded at the Summer 2009 meeting, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The distinguished Service Citation is presented to AAPT members in recognition of theirexceptional contributions to AAPT and physics teaching.

North Carolina Teacher Working Conditions NC 100% …

George was a condensed matter theorist with a specialization in lattice dynamics,particularly in strongly anharmonic crystals. As late as in 2003, he still published on thissubject. He had a long and lasting impact on the department and on Rutgers. He was a popular andloved teacher and did important work related to the teaching of physics, both locally and on thenational scene. He created the Physics Learning Center (now the MSLC), the Gateway program and wasvery active in forming the AAUP chapter at Rutgers. He was also the central figure in establishingan HMO at Rutgers, which very significantly improved the health benefits for all his colleagueshere. He received many honors for his work, such as the Georgina Smith Award from the AAUP "ForCreative and Distinguished Leadership", the presidential Award for Distinguished Public Service,the Sussman Award for Excellence in Teaching, Best Teacher of the Year Award and several more.

to the social society no matter to ..

Professors Eva Andrei and Sasha Zamolodchikovhave been elected to membership in the .The AAAS is one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societiesand a leading center forindependent policy research. Founded in 1780, the AAAS counts more than 200 Nobel Prize laureates and 100Pulitzer Prize winners among its fellows.

Learn more about the future of education ..

Professor Jerry Sellwood has won the from the Division of Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society. The Brouwer Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field ofdynamical astronomy, including excellence in scientific research, impact, and influence in the field, andexcellence in teaching and training of students. Details can be foundat .

Teacher as Leader and Learner | Vince Gowmon

Professor Terry Matilsky has won the from theAstronomical Society of the Pacific, which is awarded annually to an individual demonstrating outstanding achievement in the teaching ofcollege-level introductory astronomy for non-science majors. Detailscan be found at.

The Cool Teacher trope as used in popular culture

"We all loved the spirit of it, everyone was talking about it," says Francis Gilbert, an English teacher at Coopers' Company and Coborn Secondary School, Upminster, east London, who was in teacher training when the film was released.

20 years a teacher | (25 to go…..)

Dead Poets Society was released in 1989. Set in the Welton Academy in Vermont, Keating was the liberal new teacher at the very conservative 1950s private school.

Teacher Resources | Library of Congress

Among the multitude of tributes for Robin Williams has come a stream from one particular group - people who became teachers after being inspired by his role in Dead Poets Society.